References

As Lukas’s camera tutor I have had the pleasure of watching him mature into a very hard working and creative cameraman. His skill behind the camera is complemented by his ability to work either alone or within a team situation. I also greatly admired his ethics when it came to respecting the wildlife he was working with. I know Lukas to be honest, punctual and trustworthy and would highly recommend him and his ability to work in any genre of filmmaking.

Robert Brown – Camera Techniques Professional Practice Fellow, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, New Zealand. Robert Brown has worked for the BBC Natural History Unit, where he was considered one of the world’s finest cameramen specializing in animal behavior.

Anyone can pick up a camera, but not everyone possesses the artful vision to use it to craft a powerful story – and this is where Lukas shines. His technical acuity, fierce intellect and boundless creativity enable him to create media that not only informs, but in fact, inspires.
His aptitude for thinking outside the box keeps him deeply invested in the future, while his desire to use the art of filmmaking as a tool for better understanding our world will enable him to reach a broad audience and create a profound impact.
Production work can be intensely stressful as the constant creative and intellectual demands of the job mean juggling multiple projects, working under tight deadlines and managing a broad spectrum of personalities and egos. It requires a skill-set that combines organization and innovation, the ability to be focused, yet flexible – and perhaps most importantly, rock-solid interpersonal skills. Not only are Lukas’ talents multifaceted, but he embraces every challenge set before him with a robust sense of exploration, professionalism and grace. His passion is infused in every aspect of his work.

Dr. Gianna Savoie – Director of Filmmaking, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, New Zealand

I worked in TV for many decades – I would have been very happy to have Lukas in any of my production teams. He is a good person and a hard worker. He has the potential to do remarkable things in the world of filmmaking, and I commend him to you very warmly.

Neil Harraway – Professional Practice Fellow, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, New Zealand

I consider Mr. Gawenda an extremely talented and creative student, who has always participated artfully in the discussions held in class. His strengths also include a high degree of empathy, which he has repeatedly demonstrated during the so-called “peer reviews” of the film scripts.

His bachelor film “Panta Rhei” convinces not only through the extraordinary quality of his photographs, but also captivates through the thinking process behind the concept and its high production-value. This production confirms the student’s great visual talents and above all also highlights his empathy he feels towards his surroundings. In the work of Mr. Gawenda, the viewer can see and feel the emotions of the creator about our environment. The results he obtained in my modules were in the top results of the year. His thesis film shows the work of a very talented visual artist.

Prof. Martin FeldmannAnsbach University of Applied Sciences, Germany

I have observed many examples of Lukas’s academic capabilities and other talents during his studies, especially concerning photography and TV journalism. Under my supervision he successfully completed various films and video podcasts in the field of public relations/commercials and outdoor-TV.
Lukas was awarded several renowned prizes in photography for shooting spectacular landscape and wildlife impressions before gaining further experience in the field of “moving pictures” at our university. In the time that I have known him, I was very impressed by his dedication to any endeavor he took part in. I would rank him as among one of my best students.

Prof. Renate HermannAnsbach University of Applied Sciences, Germany.

Lukas Gawenda has shown in the 10 years of his work on the photo tours that he can impart his excellent knowledge in the field of photography and nature filming to the participants in an excellent way even under difficult conditions in the wilderness as assistant to the tour guide.
His communication skills and sense of humor are an enrichment for working with groups. We are sure that he has a very special ability to touch people emotionally with his photographs and films, to arouse interest in nature and to motivate them to treat nature in a sensitive and respectful way. We can recommend him with full conviction as an employee in film and photographic communication. Besides his great expertise, he also brings a lot of idealism, passion and enthusiasm for nature, which he also radiates to other people.

Hörður Erlingsson – Managing Director, Erlingsson Naturreisen, Iceland

For excellent photographic achievements we award Lukas Gawenda the title of Young Master Photographer.

Jochen PreußGerman Association for Photography, Germany

Referenzen

Als Kameralehrer von Lukas hatte ich das Vergnügen, ihn zu einem sehr hart arbeitenden und kreativen Kameramann heranreifen zu sehen. Seine Fähigkeiten hinter der Kamera werden durch seine Fähigkeit ergänzt, entweder allein oder im Team zu arbeiten. Ich bewunderte auch sehr seine Ethik, wenn es darum ging, die Wildtiere, mit denen er arbeitete, zu respektieren. Ich weiß, dass Lukas ehrlich, pünktlich und vertrauenswürdig ist und würde ihn und seine Fähigkeit, in jedem Filmgenre zu arbeiten, sehr empfehlen.

Robert Brown – Camera Techniques Professional Practice Fellow, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, Neuseeland. Robert Brown hat für die BBC Natural History Unit als einer der weltbesten Kameramänner gearbeitet und sich auf das Verhalten von Tieren spezialisiert.

Jeder kann einen Fotoapparat in die Hand nehmen, aber nicht jeder besitzt die kunstvolle Vision, daraus eine aussagekräftige Geschichte zu machen – und hier glänzt Lukas. Seine technische Schärfe, sein scharfer Verstand und seine grenzenlose Kreativität ermöglichen es ihm, Medien zu schaffen, die nicht nur informieren, sondern tatsächlich inspirieren.
Seine Fähigkeit, über den Tellerrand hinauszuschauen, lässt ihn tief in die Zukunft blicken, während sein Wunsch, die Kunst des Filmemachens als Werkzeug für ein besseres Verständnis unserer Welt zu nutzen, es ihm ermöglichen wird, ein breites Publikum zu erreichen und eine tiefgreifende Wirkung zu erzielen.
Die Produktionsarbeit kann sehr anstrengend sein, da die ständigen kreativen und intellektuellen Anforderungen des Jobs bedeuten, mit mehreren Projekten zu jonglieren, unter engen Zeitvorgaben zu arbeiten und ein breites Spektrum von Persönlichkeiten und Egos zu managen. Es erfordert Fähigkeiten, die Organisation und Innovation, Konzentration und Flexibilität kombinieren – und vielleicht am wichtigsten, grundsolide zwischenmenschliche Fähigkeiten. Lukas’ Talente sind nicht nur vielfältig, sondern er nimmt jede Herausforderung, die sich ihm stellt, mit einem robusten Sinn für Erkundung, Professionalität und Anmut an. Seine Leidenschaft ist in jeden Aspekt seiner Arbeit eingeflossen.

Dr. Gianna Savoie – Director of Filmmaking, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, Neuseeland

Ich habe viele Jahrzehnte lang im Fernsehen gearbeitet – ich wäre sehr glücklich gewesen, Lukas in einem meiner Produktionsteams zu haben. Er ist ein guter Mensch und ein harter Arbeiter. Er hat das Potenzial, bemerkenswerte Dinge in der Welt des Filmemachens zu tun, und ich empfehle Ihnen Lukas sehr herzlich.

Neil Harraway – Professional Practice Fellow, Centre for Science Communication, University of Otago, Neuseeland

Ich halte Herrn Gawenda für einen äußerst talentierten und kreativen Studenten, der sich stets kunstvoll an den Diskussionen im Unterricht beteiligt hat. Zu seinen Stärken gehört auch ein hohes Maß an Einfühlungsvermögen, das er bei den sogenannten “Peer Reviews” der Filmdrehbücher immer wieder unter Beweis gestellt hat.

Sein Bachelor-Film “Panta Rhei” überzeugt nicht nur durch die außergewöhnliche Qualität seiner Fotografien, sondern besticht auch durch den Denkprozess hinter dem Konzept und seinen hohen Produktionswert. Diese Produktion bestätigt die große visuelle Begabung des Studenten und unterstreicht vor allem auch sein Einfühlungsvermögen, das er gegenüber seiner Umgebung empfindet. Bei den Aufnahmen von Herrn Gawenda kann der Betrachter die Emotionen des Künstlers gegenüber unserer Umwelt sehen und fühlen. Die Ergebnisse, die er in meinen Modulen erzielt hat, gehören zu den Spitzenergebnissen des Jahres. Sein Bachelor-Film zeigt die Arbeit eines sehr talentierten visuellen Künstlers.

Prof. Martin FeldmannHochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Ansbach, Deutschland

Ich habe viele Beispiele für Lukas’ akademische Fähigkeiten und andere Talente während seines Studiums beobachtet, insbesondere in Bezug auf Fotografie und Fernsehjournalismus. Unter meiner Leitung absolvierte er erfolgreich verschiedene Filme und Video-Podcasts im Bereich Public Relations/Werbung und Outdoor-TV.
Lukas erhielt mehrere renommierte Preise für seine Fotografien spektakulärer Landschafts- und Tierimpressionen, bevor er an unserer Hochschule weitere Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet der „bewegten Bilder“ sammelte. In der Zeit, in der ich ihn gekannt habe, war ich sehr beeindruckt von seinem Engagement bei allen Unternehmungen, an denen er beteiligt war. Ich würde ihn als einen meiner besten Studenten einstufen.

Prof. Renate HermannHochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Ansbach, Deutschland

Lukas Gawenda hat in den 10 Jahren seiner Arbeit auf den Fototouren gezeigt, dass er als Assistent des Reiseleiters seine exzellenten Kenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der Fotografie und des Naturfilms auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen in der Wildnis hervorragend an die Teilnehmer vermitteln kann.
Seine Kommunikationsfähigkeiten und sein Sinn für Humor sind eine Bereicherung für die Arbeit mit Gruppen. Wir sind sicher, dass er eine ganz besondere Fähigkeit besitzt, Menschen mit seinen Fotografien und Filmen emotional zu berühren, Interesse für die Natur zu wecken und sie zu einem sensiblen und respektvollen Umgang mit der Natur zu motivieren. Wir können ihn aus voller Überzeugung als Mitarbeiter in der Film- und Fotokommunikation empfehlen. Neben seiner großen Sachkenntnis bringt er auch viel Idealismus, Leidenschaft und Begeisterung für die Natur mit, die er auch auf andere Menschen ausstrahlt.

Hörður Erlingsson – Managing Director, Erlingsson Naturreisen, Island

Für hervorragende fotografische Leistungen verleihen wir Lukas Gawenda den Titel des Jungfotografenmeisters.

Jochen PreußDeutscher Verband für Fotografie e.V., Deutschland